Modern American Poets at the National Portrait Gallery

I recently went to the Smithsonian’s American Poets exhibit at the National Portrait Gallery after emailed me a link to the event when I was planning a free day in the city. It was great and I loved their selection which included some of my favorites like Amiri Baraka, ee cummings, and Walt Whitman (lots of love for Walt Whitman as the father of modern poetry in this exhibit). I don’t know who wrote the descriptions next to each portrait but they were so thoughtful and eloquent. Each portrait included a quoted piece of poetry from the poet’s collection. Really a lovely way to spend an afternoon. I’d never been to the National Portrait Gallery, of all my years being raised in the District and it is a smaller museum but full of great treasures.

2 thoughts on “Modern American Poets at the National Portrait Gallery

Leave a Reply

